Thursday, April 23, 2009



...............continued from Part 45

The offices of khilafah and imamah are therefore similar, but the latter is of lesser magnitude. The distinction between the two offices is of extreme importance to the Muslims of today for reasons which will be discussed later.

Its distinction was not perceptible and was of little significance during the lifetimes of great scholars, such as Al Mawardi (991-1031), Al Farabi (870-950), Ibn Khaldun (1332-1406), Ibn Taymiyah (1263-1328), Al Baqillahni (D-1013) and the others, because the French Revolution (1789) was yet to happen and Christian colonization had not started yet.

The khilafah and imamah are two derivatives of al wilayah, with the latter having lesser magnitude. When Islam was realized in Madinah, vested in Muhammad s.a.w. were:

1. Nubuwwah
2. Risalah
3.Wilayah (a) khilafah
(b) imamah

After the death of Prophet Muhammad s.a.w. the nubuwwah and the risalah were forever terminated, and vested in the khalifah ar rashidun were:

1. Wilayah (a) khilafah
(b) imamah

Beginning with the rule of the Ummayid, the office of khilafah was made a hereditary monarchy, thus vested in the khalifah were:

1. Wilayah (a) mulukiyyah
(b) imamah

At the advent of the onslaught of Christian colonization, there were wilayah and mulukiyyah scattered in Europe, Africa, West Asia, Middle Asia, the Indian Subscontinent and the Malay Archipelago. Then all were lost.

The successful Iranian Revolution of 1979 resurfaced the wilayah. It is of the imamah type. be continued